Remembering Kozhakattai and Gulzar

It’s a cross between a light rain and drizzle outside. The kinds that grace days that can’t make up their minds about the weather. Do I drench you, or continue to puzzle you with the inconsistent kiss of water? I associate these moody rains with Gulzar. Perhaps a sudden bout of homesickness as I found myself staring at dessicated coconut in a Tamil store today. I wish to eat kozhakattai tomorrow the way I always have on Ganesha Chaturthi. I remember how we used to batch process kozhakattais as kids. I remember a particular time when my grandaunt was making flat purses out of rice flour, my grandmother placing a small amount of the jaggery-coconut in the flour purse and my mother was tying the flour knot on top. I was placing them on the stand so they could be steamed.

Far from where one grows up, food and music often evoke a certain gnawing feeling inside. Nostalgia. The more I remember, the more I am prone to forgetting. For now, am listening to this song that is perfect for both nostalgia (Gulzar, that halwa for the soul) and drizzles.

This entry was posted in Family and Friends, Food and Gastronomy, Music, Film and Art, Self. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Remembering Kozhakattai and Gulzar

  1. Nithya says:

    Aah…kozhukkattai. You have evoked some strong gastronomical memories, Neha. When I was growing up in Chennai, my mom used to make kozhukkaattai only during Pillayaar Chathurthi. Why not more often, it didn’t occur to ask? But when I visited my parents a few years ago and casually mentioned them, I found my mom and mom-in-law busy in the kitchen making kozhukkattais the next morning. Things like this don’t happen that often. Where can I go now for kozhukkattai, I wonder.

    Like

  2. Vi says:

    I know…I’m in my dorm room, and I can’t have any kozhukkattais either, and I can’t go home. I remember stealing bits of the coconut jaggery mixer and hiding it, so I could eat it raw (after neveythaim, of course). My mom always wondered why she was always left with more maavu than thengai.

    Like

  3. Mohib says:

    Recently we had an oppurtunity to share our apartment with a Maharastrian guy for a month or so. I heard the word Modak for the first time from him. He prepared them a couple of time. I did not like them that much. May be he was just a bad cook.

    Like

  4. tilotamma says:

    http://www.sulekha.com/blogs/blogdisplay.aspx?cid=4275

    Palekar-Delhi. Well apropos of nothing, have you read this piece in Sulekha? I normally don’t go there but this is one of the good ones…

    Like

  5. Nithya: We just have to learn to make them! But they are rather time and effort intensive. Having processed my first batch – I am not sure I’d have the enthusiasm to make them on an average Sunday.

    Vi: Oh yes. Isn’t stealing from the kitchen the best? When you can go to your favourite corner and gobble it all up?

    Mohib: He was definitely a bad cook!

    Tilotamma: Thanks so much for that link! Wonderful read. Having spent most of my life as a Madrasi – what a South Indian morphs into once outside “the water”. As an aside – I am known to amuse people with stories of bad pronounciation and word errors that my family has committed over the years. Makes for good conversation at least!

    Like