Ready, Steady, Charity 4

Fourth. Words: Telepathic, Grand Slam, Newyork Nagaram

Dear Selvi,

Apparently you’ve had the baby. It’s hard to tell if it’s a boy or girl sitting in this city, halfway across the world. I may be a genius but telepathic I am not. Have you named the child yet? I suppose my suggestion of naming a child after my parents may not sit well with you. My mother thinks that the birth of this child is akin to a Grand Slam victory. That for a year or so, we’ll bask in the glory of a chlid and fall in love again. She thinks you will come back to this city with her and the baby in tow, so she can look at her daughter-in-law struggle with a tiny creature wearing an arana kayaru. She refuses to come without you. A grandchild is the only way to transform New York City to New York Nagaram.

Can’t we just pretend you love me?

Love,
Pitchu

This entry was posted in Poetry and Fiction, Project Why. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ready, Steady, Charity 4

  1. Sai says:

    Good one!!! No wonder, our population is touching new heights. Should give it to the mom-in-laws🙂

    Like

  2. RaajK says:

    The third word doesn’t fit well with the story. Sorry, can’t resist the temptation to say this.

    Like

  3. Sai: Paavum mother-in-law. Paavum Pitchu too.

    RaajK: Agree. I am not sure I like this one entirely.

    Like

  4. Dinesh says:

    Nice one that ! I was wondering how you were going to weave all the 3 together. No wonder you’re all pros and the rest of us are not🙂

    Like

  5. kingkong says:

    just had a hearty laugh(Salma Hayek post) and *sob sob* pitchu paavam…

    Like

  6. Pingback: READY, STEADY, CHARITY (STICKY POST WITH REGULAR UPDATES) « Gauravonomics