Conversation of the Week

Babe of Bombay (BoB) and I have a brief conversation.

BoB: I don’t speak Hindi. Never picked it up.
Me: In Bombay? You didn’t pick up Hindi in Bombay?

BoB: Even at home, I don’t understand what my parents say in Tamil.
Me: Oh. Okay.

BoB: I think it’s my face.
Me: Err?

BoB: I think my face tells people that I don’t know Hindi or Tamil. It’s in my face. I have a face like that.
Me: I don’t understand.

BoB: People have told me. My facial structure is like that. My face tells people I know only English. That’s why I feel very comfortable in London.

For a change, I am stunned and silent.

—-

This entry was posted in Self. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Conversation of the Week

  1. Broom says:

    does she communicate in sign language with her parents?

    Like

  2. Gauri says:

    Is one supposed to be proud of something like this ? Does she expect an accolade of some kind ?
    My first reaction was the same as Brooms – how in the name of god does she communicate. Sign Language ??

    Like

  3. Gauri says:

    Or rather – in the present context – thru SMSs or emails perhaps ?

    Like

  4. nikita says:

    let me guess..did you come across her at your place of education? hmm. and good lord!

    Like

  5. satish says:

    Throw in a few offers wid Prabhu and Rajni wid a few lakhs I’m sure she will wear the pavada sari and do all the dancing and crying in Tamil, malayalam and Tamil :))

    Like

  6. neha says:

    eh? i knew a twat like this in college. she thought her face didnt say indian. more american, or british. it was very hard not to laugh at her face. i usually did. maybe tht’s what you should do too!

    Like

  7. Charu says:

    she must be right, Neha, if she understood tamil, she would have said ‘face cut’ (as Tams translate muga vetttu literally) and not facial structure. that said, I wonder what english understanding facial structures are like…?

    Like

  8. TinTin says:

    didnt understand zilch about the conversation, maybe I’m just dumb.

    Like

  9. mumbaigirl says:

    Did you tell her that many people in London don’t speak English either? It would be best if she remained silent.

    Like

  10. rads says:

    The girl speaks a language of her own!

    Like

  11. Nilu says:

    why do makku type people alone comment here?

    Like

  12. WA says:

    Now considering yours is not an anonymous blog, google will lead the babe of Bombay here soon and then I suspect we will be reading an apology post๐Ÿ™‚

    Nilu – unnaiyum sethu dhaane solre?

    Like

  13. Prasoon says:

    Am stunned n surprised too..

    However, a mild reality is faced by me too.
    I hear people telling me – “you have stayed in hyd for 19 years and cant understand/speak telugu properly”๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  14. byker7 says:

    a remarkable display of self control. your’s, i mean.

    while your reaction was stunned silence, mine would have been unprintable.

    Like

  15. jillumadrasi says:

    makku and samathuu people.

    Like

  16. Giridhar says:

    yebbaaaaaa….Peter aaka filfaans thaangale…

    yaaru antha peter akka…introduce me to her…will teach her some first hand lessons..

    Like

  17. wendigo says:

    arre. bacche ki jaan logey kya?

    Like

  18. vineeta says:

    amazing, That u kept a straight face. or did you?๐Ÿ™‚ I’d have been grinning through the amazing revelation- of the English face๐Ÿ™‚

    Like