Famous Blue Raincoat

What an utterly fabulous song. I’ve been humming this in my head through the weekend. And how our preferences change over the years. I used to love the Joan Baez version, but as I age (cough!), I’ve come to realize just how beautiful and deep the original by Leonard Cohen is. Here’s an excellent compilation of all the covers.

I have a feeling I am going to hum this song in my head through the week now. No escape.

This entry was posted in Music, Film and Art. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Famous Blue Raincoat

  1. Sam says:

    I love this song! Can’t help squeal in delight anytime, I come across a reference 🙂

    Like

  2. rumpelstiltskin says:

    Yes,
    And thanks for the trouble you took…
    from her eyes…
    I thought it was there for good
    so I never tried.

    what a turn of phrase right there… really startled me when the “from her eyes” bit came out…. now WHO would have expected such a slam dunk.

    Like

  3. Akila says:

    Love this song…the baez version is awesome too…..!!!!

    Cohen rocks…have u read his books? heard they are good as well….

    Like

  4. km says:

    Umm…most covers by Joan Baez – and this is strictly my personal preference – do not seem to hold up very well against the originals.

    Like

Comments are closed.