Wanted: Words. More Words.

I want to write more. A long while back when Ammani got me hooked to the Project Why business, an innocuous collection and random collection of three words really yanked me out of my story writing hiatus.

Hence gentle readers, I give you this. Give me a set of four words. Any four words. I’ll try and write a story that connects those four words. Well, a story or a poem. If you don’t want to post the words here – well mail them over to nehavish[at]gmail[dot]com.

The more unusual the words, the more likely we can up with something interesting here. On the other hand, some words only lend themselves to clichés. For instance, for Project Why I had words like Goldilocks, Teen Taal, mamanaar, Baby, Cigarette, Kamal Haasan, Burp, Goddess, Disposable, Triceratops, velvet, tabla, Ghatotkacha, Rumsfeld and Banian, Ferrari, Vijayakanth, Salma Hayek, Bashi-Bazouk, curd-rice, Kremlin, Ilayaraja, sleep.

Get it?

PS – If you haven’t read my Project Why fiction series – here you go.

This entry was posted in Poetry and Fiction, Self. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Wanted: Words. More Words.

  1. Laksh says:

    This is fun!!

    Here are the four words that are twirling in my brain right now.

    Hope, Anticipation, Restlessness, Dread

    Like

  2. rads says:

    Alrighty girl, here goes:

    Marshmallows, Polar Bear, Salamander, Tsunami.

    Like

  3. hmm 4 very common but interesting ones- Life, Love, Rejoicing, Hurt i think a poem on these is a better option 😉 lol….

    Like

  4. Yashita says:

    Books, Post-its, Oranges and cupcakes.

    Speed, Lemons, Venus and Words.

    or, Betrayal, moonlight, blue and oysters.

    Like

  5. skimpy says:

    this reminds me of this thing in IIMB that some of my senior batches used to do – it was called “challenge CP” (CP = class participation)

    it’s like i give you a set of words. and the next time you speak out in class (addressing the prof, etc.) you need to use these words in the sentence. the more words you use, the more points you get.

    so here are the 4 words:

    challenge class participation point

    Like

  6. Veg Cutlet says:

    Manasu Kashtam (as a phrase.).
    Veena.
    Gurgaon.

    If that is three, then include Woodlands.

    Like

  7. shefaly says:

    Poha weeds marketing ROI

    Like

  8. shashank says:

    hii…
    these are the four words…
    ecstasy
    freak out
    me
    yahoo

    Like

  9. WA says:

    show-off, renaissance, propellers, credit-crunch

    and I demand a poem, in fact I demand a poem which even I can understand. Thanks muchly

    Like

  10. Gauri says:

    I cant wait to see what this post is going be …ekdum true neha ishtyle:)

    Okie 4 words that randomly crossed to my mind –
    Time
    Bill
    Cushion
    Dolphins

    Like

  11. Dinesh says:

    This is interesting. Here goes my 4 words – Tornado, Monaco, Rajinikanth, Kangaroo.

    Like

  12. Vidya says:

    Krugman, Kalainjar, Kleptomania, Ketchup

    Like

  13. Yuva says:

    Brutel, Gandhi, killer, humanmind

    Like

  14. Adithya says:

    Bombay.Madras.London.Love

    Like

  15. theidealrecluse says:

    Seppuku, Nausea, Junky, Curd rice

    Like

  16. ilegirl says:

    lonely consignment railroad frost

    Like

  17. Banno says:

    pigeons highway shadows pepper

    Like

  18. varali says:

    Gems Bond (we’ll consider it one word)
    Taalam (as in Carnatic music)
    Guatemala
    Oil-pulling

    And I would LOVE to see Vidya’s words used. Can’t wait for these to be turned into verse or worse.

    Like

  19. prats says:

    Interesting one…
    My words for you would be
    deck, compassion, lyrical and sublime

    Like

  20. Whoa!
    Let me get working on these.
    In no particular order. (Gulp! What have I gotten myself into!!)

    Like

  21. Ankur says:

    Testament, Serenity, Trail, Tears

    Like

  22. Krishnan says:

    Here we go:
    Archipelago, Palette, Rhododendron, Soliloquy

    Like

  23. ??! says:

    Ha! You asked for it.

    Poppycock, twinkletoes, pucker, loofah

    Like

  24. Chevalier says:

    distortion, precision, degustation, defenestration

    in either the current noun form or the root.

    For extra credit, try a sonnet or a limerick…

    I’ll try to do this one too, but I’m so going to fail.

    Like

  25. Ramya says:

    Here are my four: Sex,Sambaar, Sathveegam and Somalia..

    Like

  26. Siva says:

    Kai Murukku, Aravind swamy, Diaper, kavithai.

    Like

Comments are closed.