Aa Ante Amalapuram!

When I started working in Hyderabad in 2004, I pretty much ended up working in half of Andhra Pradesh. Went to all sorts of districts, in odd hours, through vague roots. If luck favoured me, I would have a car with a driver. In such a setting, I discovered this gem of a song. Aa ante Amalapuram. I won’t dare to post the video here. Actually the video isn’t really vulgar, but there is something about the ceaseless pelvic gyrations, that makes you feel sort of icky. But I am more concerned with the audio aspect of this song.

It so happened that pretty much wherever I went in Andhra in 2004, this song filled the airwaves. It was from a film called Arya. I incidentally remember watching this film in some district of Andhra. Absolutely alone. Because I was bored and I had nothing to do that evening. With the little Telugu that I know or pretend to know, I somewhat understood the plot. Though Wikipedia tells me that I got a few things muddled up. Here’s the song in its full glory

http://fb.esnips.com//escentral/images/widgets/flash/esnips_player.swf
Get this widget | Track details | eSnips Social DNA

Awesome, no?

I think the film was declared a hit. And to say the least, every kid in Andhra was singing this song through 2004. For some reason it sounds absurdly raunchy. Even the resident gult speaker at home has no idea what this song actually means. If any gult-speaker could tell me, I would be grateful. Till then please enjoy the song. Because I certainly do. Takes me back to my first job, and my first taste of gult raunch.

This entry was posted in Music, Film and Art. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Aa Ante Amalapuram!

  1. Seetha says:

    OMG! I was obsessed with this song. I had just moved to USA and had a limited number of cds with me. This song happened to be one of them. It’s an addictive tune. I don’t think it’s supposed to mean anything, that girl is explaining how all men keep leering at her. if you like this one, there are a few others (raunchy ones, of course) I could suggest:
    “Aata kavala pata kavala” from Annaya (I think)
    “Ippatikinka naa vayasu inka padahaare” from Pokiri
    “Lux paa Lux papa lunch kostava” from some Balakrishna movie.
    You’re welcome. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. maxdavinci says:

    a lil birdie told me that the song is a rave in college festivals in Mumbai along with namma Vijay’s vaadi vaadi….

    Like

  3. rads says:

    hahaha neha. You so don’t want to know the meaning. That is, there is no semblance of a decent meaning to make of the words. It’s to be just enjoyed as is. πŸ™‚
    O, you know who she is? Do you know ofa Anuradha or wanna be Silk Smitha caliber? Her daughter.

    This one’s similar tooo, with Mumaith Khan

    Like

  4. Adithya says:

    Lol… good one, actually. Another awesome Telugu song I know of is Maya Maya from Shankar Dada. KK is brilliant in it.

    Like

  5. Banno says:

    Great fun. A raunchier ‘Chaiya chaiya’.

    Like

  6. mumbaigirl says:

    I know this song. Love it!

    Like

  7. Twisted DNA says:

    This profound song spurts from the bowels of linguistic creativity. Look at the use of the Telugu word, “anTe”. It mans “means” or “if you say”. Both meanings of the word are wrung out of it and seeped into this homage to Telugu language. Let me illustrate by translating a verse from this song:

    “u” anTe ungaapuram
    u-hu ante ooge janam

    “u means ungapuram” (an imaginary place, invented just for the rhyme of this song.)
    “If you say u-hu, people will gyrate with ecstasy”

    It might seem like gibberish, but if you take moment to immerse yourself in the philosophy of it, you will realize that “u-hu” also means “no”. So we can try to look into the thick mind of the poet by interpreting it as, “There is an imaginary place in everybody’s heart, where rejection is accepted as joyously as acceptance. That is where every human-being needs to be.”

    πŸ˜›

    Twisted “The Translator” DNA

    Like

  8. Anil says:

    I understood none of it back then the first time I heard it, nor do I now.

    But its got a catchy rhythm.

    Like

  9. Gigi says:

    Man – twisted DNA’s translation left my head spinning πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Sangeetha says:

    The tune is catchy but somehow I never liked the song, especially because of the meaningless lyrics and insane dance movements.

    Anyway, the lyrics have got literally no meaning. They are all rhyming words which the girl uses to tell how men are leering at her(like Seetha said).

    Telugu movies have got many such nonsense songs. And nowadays, it’s “in” to have a song or two in Hindi in every Telugu movie. No clue why they do that!

    P.S. I like your blog, and follow it regularly. Commenting for the first time though, because I am a “gult” you know πŸ˜‰

    Like

  11. B o o. says:

    I think this song was to Andhra how Manmadha Raasa was to TN. Both sung by Malathi. I heard her on a TV show singing a medley of all the “kuthu” songs she has sung. Man! She can sing!

    Like

  12. MeghnaK says:

    i didnt understnd a wrd thgh the music ws good πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. buddy says:

    this song is an absolute must have at mumbai college festivals! full on dancing!

    Like

  14. rads says:

    @boo – Manmadha Raasa – what a fine koothu! πŸ™‚ I have this humungo DK song contribution at my blog that requires a special page!

    Like

  15. Pradeep says:

    Hey, its my first time here and let me tell you, you’ve got an awesome blog!
    Thanks for introducing me to A ante Amalapuram….I’m gonna go home and make fun of my room mate who is an “Andhrajanam” πŸ˜›

    Like

  16. Lekhni says:

    @Twisted DNA: That is a marvelous explanation πŸ˜€ Can you throw more profound light on the rest of the paragraphs? Do a blog post? Please?

    “There is an imaginary place in everybody’s heart, where rejection is accepted as joyously as acceptance.”

    What fun! πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are closed.