Poem: All you hurters

“You are Yin, I am Yang. Today,
we are Chinese.”. I nod. We’ll
wear the curtains as kimono. You
call me a fool, and said only
the Japanese wore kimono.

We are lying next to each other,
too young, our limbs yet to swell
with adolescence. Afternoon
tastes like cardboard. Our throats
are dry. We don’t wake the adults.
This thirsty stillness, belong to us.

We inhale lime from the walls. Bare,
whitewashed, cool. You rub your
back against them. Streaks of white
on your blue shorts. I slap them away.

You suddenly pull yourself away
from me. Break the afternoon in two,
and give one part to me. My dear Yin,
I never meant to hurt you, I said.
One eye wet, the other red, you
say “All you hurters, say the same.”.

This entry was posted in Photographs, Poetry and Fiction, Random Links. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Poem: All you hurters

  1. Monica says:

    Why did my heart jump so?

    Like

  2. dipali says:

    Awww! Such a charmer of a poem…..

    Like

  3. Ah! The burden of having to be the one to say – “I never meant to hurt you”!

    Like

  4. Monica: Then the poem did do what it was to do.. Heart jumped as I wrote though..

    dipali: 🙂

    gauravonomics: The notion of gulit.. hhmm

    Like

  5. Very nice, except the end, which I find a little … predictable?

    And don’t tell me YOU took that photo. (Gah!)

    J.A.P.

    Like

  6. J. Alfred Prufrock: Predictable because of the title?And yes, burn further – for I took the photo! Hah!

    Like

  7. Monica says:

    Oh that’s beautiful

    Like

  8. Anil says:

    That’s some snap, poetry by itself.

    Like